Canadian Participation in H2020

The European Union has concluded bilateral science and technology (S&T) agreements with a number of individual countries. These agreements constitute a framework and a privileged forum  for enhancing policy dialogue and identifying common interests, priorities and the necessary tools for S&T collaboration.

The “Agreement for Scientific and Technological Cooperation between Canada and the European Community” has been in place since 1996, and does not have an end date. The responsibility for the S&T cooperation dialogue lies with the EU-Canada Joint Science and Technology Cooperation Committee (JSTCC), managed by the Directorate-General for Research and Innovation of the European Commission.

Horizon 2020 is open to participation from around the world, meaning that (except where specifically prohibited) European researchers can cooperate with their counterparts in third countries on any topic of their choice. This, however, does not imply that entities from third countries are automatically eligible for funding through the European Union budget. To verify if an entity from a particular third country is eligible for funding under Horizon 2020, please see the Annex on General Conditions of the Horizon 2020 work programme and the relevant guidelines. Further information on the status of entities from potential Associated Countries during the first year of implementation of Horizon 2020 can be found here.

Within Horizon 2020, certain topics have been flagged as being particularly suitable for international cooperation.  Consortia working on these topics are encouraged to include third country partners (in many cases particular countries or regions are targeted) in their consortia. The list of topics flagged as especially suitable for international cooperation can be found here:  Topics page for international cooperation.

Source: European Commission

Links: Horizon 2020-Open to the world!